THE ESSENTIAL ELIZABETH MONTGOMERY
A GUIDE TO HER MAGICAL PERFORMANCES
By Herbie J Pilato
(Taylor Trade Publishing)
ESSENTIAL OVERVIEW
Elizabeth Montgomery’s talent, charisma, and personality have charmed millions
for decades.
THE ESSENTI...
Fun Facts about Elizabeth Montgomery
 Elizabeth loved to draw, and once had aspirations to work for Walt Disney as a
prof...
ESSENTIAL BUZZ
“…a definitive source…rare and factualinsight into what makes an actor, a hit show, and much
more…Pilato is...
ABOUT HERBIE J PILATO
Writer/producer Herbie J Pilato is the author of several media tie-in books,
including Glamour, Gidg...
of 5

PRESS RELEASE Essential Elizabeth Montgomery

Published on: Mar 4, 2016
Source: www.slideshare.net


Transcripts - PRESS RELEASE Essential Elizabeth Montgomery

  • 1. THE ESSENTIAL ELIZABETH MONTGOMERY A GUIDE TO HER MAGICAL PERFORMANCES By Herbie J Pilato (Taylor Trade Publishing)
  • 2. ESSENTIAL OVERVIEW Elizabeth Montgomery’s talent, charisma, and personality have charmed millions for decades. THE ESSENTIAL ELIZABETH MONTGOMERY: A GUIDE TO HER MAGICAL PERFORMANCES by Herbie J Pilato (Twitch Upon A Star, Taylor Trade, 2012) is a delightful new book that delineates, dissects, and celebrates the diversity of Montgomery’s remarkable career, while chronicling just how much her real life spilled into her historic roles on stage and screen. Based on Pilato’s exclusive interviews with the actress and supplemented with commentary provided by, among others, legendary and Oscar-nominated actress Juanita Moore (Imitation of Life, 1959), who co-starred with Elizabeth in a monumental episode of 77 Sunset Strip about prejudice), and a myriad of entertainment professionals. With plot summaries, airdates, release dates, and behind-the-scenes notes and anecdotes of select performances, THE ESSENTIAL ELIZABETH MONTGOMERY is the ultimate handy, entertaining, and informative reference to her performances before, during and after Bewitched – including: Her feature films like The Court-Martial of BillyMitchell (1955, with Gary Cooper), Who’s Been Sleeping In My Bed? (1963, with DeanMartin and Carol Burnett), and Johnny Cool (1963, directed by future husband and Bewitched producerWilliam Asher) And Her ground-breaking TV-Movies such as: A Case of Rape(1974), The Legend of LizzieBorden (1975), The AwakeningLand(1977), and A Killing Affair(about an inter-racial love affair in which she co-starred with OJ Simpson!).
  • 3. Fun Facts about Elizabeth Montgomery  Elizabeth loved to draw, and once had aspirations to work for Walt Disney as a professional artist!  When she was in her teens, Elizabeth’s parents forbade her to go to the movies, which was odd considering her father was movie star Robert Montgomery!  One of Elizabeth’s favorite films was Lili, released in 1953, and which starred Leslie Caron as a woman who joined the circus. In 1981, Elizabeth starred in the TV-movie, When the Circus Came to Town, in which she played a character who did the same thing!  Elizabeth attended the American Academy of Dramatic Arts with Brady Bunch star Florence Henderson who played mom to Maureen McCormick’s Marcia, Marcia, Marcia. Years before, McCormick made two guest appearances on Bewitched, the first in which she played Samantha’s witchly-daughter in a dream sequence!  Before Bewitched, Elizabeth made over 200 guest-star TV appearances on shows like The Twilight Zone and The Untouchables, the latter on which she played a prostitute – and for which she earned her first of several Emmy nominations!  Elizabeth once twitched on an episode of Burke’s Law years before she trademarked that famous facial move on Bewitched!  Elizabeth agreed to play Samantha on Bewitched after Broadway actress Tammy Grimes said no. Grimes then later played “Tamantha” on TV’s The Tammy Grimes Show – which co-starred Dick Sargent (Bewitched’s second Darrin)!  Years after Bewitched, Elizabeth turned down the role of Krystal Carrington on TV’s Dynasty nighttime soap. The role then went to Linda Evans. She also turned down a part on Falcon Crest - another evening serial. This time, the role then went to Kim Novak (who played a witch in the 1958 feature film, Bell, Book & Candle).  One of Samantha’s “rivals” on Bewitched was named Buffy, the nickname for Elizabeth’s real-life stepmother Elizabeth Buffy Harkness!
  • 4. ESSENTIAL BUZZ “…a definitive source…rare and factualinsight into what makes an actor, a hit show, and much more…Pilato is a virtual professor of popular culture…essential reading.” — Ed Spielman, creator ofthe Emmy Award-winning ABC-TVseries Kung Fu “Pilato has served up a gourmet reader's feast with new,never-before-published material as well as culled from his massive buffet of previous books. Exhaustively detailed and annotated with a plethora of film and TV appearances,this book is an ‘essential’ for classic TV fans and the millions who will forever be bewitched by Elizabeth Montgomery.” — Greg Ehrbar, writer and producer “Herbie J Pilato has spent a lifetime researching and writing on media, as his backlist readily attests. Now, on the heels of his brilliant Twitch Upon A Star,comes the ultimate resource for Montgomery fans. The Essential Elizabeth Montgomery is a must-have for lovers of classic TV.” — MatthewWorley, journalist, syndicated broadcaster, host, By the Book radio show “Herbie J Pilato has created a loving, extensive, and incisive portrait of an actress who deserves the attention…An important addition to any pop culture collection.” — Lou Aronica, New York Times bestselling author “Herbie rides again! Mr. Pilato always does his homework, and this is proof of it. The Essential Elizabeth Montgomery is a wonderfully concise guide and narrative of one of television’s leading ladies. Although Elizabeth is missed, this book does have the magical ability to bring her wonderful energy and charm back to the reader.” — Eric Scott, actor, The Waltons, and Bewitched guest star “Herbie J Pilato’s thoroughly researched The Essential Elizabeth Montgomery told me all about the young woman I fawned over back in the day, and, while I was smitten with her as a young man, I came away from Herbie’s effort with even more affection and respect for this green-eyed beauty.” — Paul Petersen, president and founder of A Minor Consideration; actor, author, and advocate “Herbie J Pilato truly honors the amazing life and career of Elizabeth Montgomery. With a passionate and comprehensive chronology, Pilato weaves the story of how both her life and career overlapped and demonstrates how her very essence aligned with each character she portrayed…An enlightening history of an enchanted human being that will surely make any of her fans smile.” — Sandy Pedeflous, creator, Smile TV “Thank you, Herbie J—for bringing back the magic with yet another wonderful depiction of Elizabeth’s life story; by helping us discover her realcharacter,and by bringing her back into our hearts and homes through this thoughtful, lovely book.” — Névine Salvadé, author “Herbie J Pilato's The Essential Elizabeth Montgomery completes the journey of transforming a Hollywood icon into a close personal friend. . . . [This book is] skillfully and personally crafted; a joy to read…A perfect companion for fans of Ms. Montgomery or Hollywood. Cheers to another great read by Mr. Pilato.” — David E. Garamella, The Giving Collaborative
  • 5. ABOUT HERBIE J PILATO Writer/producer Herbie J Pilato is the author of several media tie-in books, including Glamour, Gidgets and the Girl Next Door and Retro Active Television (both to be published in the fall of 2014), and The Essential Elizabeth Montgomery: A Guide to Her MagicalPerformances (Taylor Trade, 2013). Pilato has worked for A&E, TLC, Bravo, Syfy, the TV Guide Network, Sony, Warner Bros. and NBCUniversal, and is the Founder & Executive Director of The Classic TV Preservation Society (a nonprofit that seeks to close the gap between popular culture and education). Recent TV Interviews CCN News in Pasadena, CA (6-minutes) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJ9ELdhxnMM “Reel Hollywood Live – with Ben & Reba (15-minutes @ cue 25:57) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bDIcJa94ivw “Forgotten Hollywood” (30 minutes) http://therapycable.com/elderly-care/preservation-of-classic-television.html CONTACT Agent: Renee C. Fountain Gandolfo Helin & Fountain Literary Management 516.567.5189 * Renee@ghliterary.com Direct: 310.480.0067 HerbieJPilato@Outlook.com www.HerbieJPilato.blogspot.com www.ClassicTVPS.blogspot.com

Related Documents